Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, October 3, 2004 at 4: 00 p.m.

Orfeo Duo
Vita Wallace, violin; Ishmael Wallace, piano
(Click on name for Bio)



Sonata for violin and piano in D major 
(Sonata for piano No. 39, Hob. XVI/24)
Franz Joseph Haydn 
Tempo di Menuetto
Sonata for violin and piano in A Major 
(Sonata for piano No. 41 Hob. XVI/26) 
Franz Joseph Haydn 
Menuetto al rovescio
Finale: Presto
Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Opus 23
Ludwig van Beethoven
Andante scherzoso più Allegretto
Allegro molto


Fantasy in C major, opus 159
Franz Schubert

Piano by  Caspar Katholnig, Vienna, c.1805-1810

Vita Wallace's violin, overhauled during the summer of 2002, was made by Lorenzo Carcassi in Florence in 1765. Her bow was made by Charles Nicolas Bazin in Mirecourt, France, around 1900. Stamped "Dodd", it is presumably a copy of a bow by a member of the English Dodd family.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $7.50 /adult, children and students, free

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .