Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, September 18, 2005 at 4: 00 p.m.

Kees Kooper, violin
Emily White, piano
(Click on name for Bio)



Two Beethoven Sonatas for Piano and Violin, with Commentary

Humor and Symbolism in the “Spring” Sonata 
Verbal and musical explanations introduce the clever humor in this work

Sonata Op.24 in F Major: The “Spring” 
(sequentially No.5 in the 10 Sonatas for Piano and Violin)
Ludwig van Beethoven
Adagio molto espressivo
Scherzo: Allegro molto
Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo


A Sonata that was Composed Backwards
A brief explanation of Beethoven’s compositional process in this sonata
Sonata Op.47 in A Major: The “Kreutzer”
(sequentially No.9)
Ludwig van Beethoven
Adagio sostenuto – Presto
Andante con variazioni

Piano by Bösendorfer, Vienna, c.1828-1832.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $7.50 /adult, children and students, free

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .