Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, June 3, 2012 at 4: 00 p.m.

Stephen Porter, piano
Stephen Porter, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Debussy Préludes 

Book I  (1910)

Claude Debussy
I .   Danseuses de Delphes  (Delphic dancers)
II.   Voiles  (Sails, or Veils)
III.   Le vent dans la plaine  (Wind on the plain)
IV.   Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l’air du soir  (Sounds and scents swirl in the evening air)
V.   Les collines d’Anacapri  (The hills of Anacapri)
VI.   Des pas sur la neige  (Footprints in the snow)
VII.   Ce qu’a vu le vent d’Ouest  (What the West Wind saw)
VIII.   La fille aux cheveux de lin  (The girl with flaxen hair)
IX.   La sérénade interrompue  (The interrupted serenade)
X.   La Cathédrale engloutie  (The sunken cathedral)
XI.   La danse de Puck  (Puck’s dance)
XII.   Minstrels  (Minstrels)


Book II  (1913)
I.   Brouillards  (Mists)
II.   Feuilles mortes  (Dead leaves)
III.   La Puerta del Vino  (Gateway to the Alhambra)
IV.   Les fées sont d’exquises danseuses  (Fairies are exquisite dancers)
V.   Bruyères  (Moors)
VI.   General Lavine, eccentric  (A celebrated American juggler)
VII.   La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune  (The terrace of moonlight audiences)
VIII.   Ondine  (The water fairy)
IX.   Hommage à S. Pickwick, Esq., P.P.M.P.C.
X.   Canope  (Egyptian burial urn, also the water god)
XI.   Tièrces alternées  (Alternating thirds)
XII.   Feux d’artifice  (Fireworks)

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1877. 

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .