Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 4: 00 p.m.

Sarah Darling, violin  Kate Bennett Haynes, 'cello  Yi-heng Yang, piano
The Clementi Collective
Sarah Darling, violin     Kate Bennett Haynes, ’cello
Yi-heng Yang, piano
(Click on any name for Bio)



We regret that due to an injury violinist Sarah Darling will not be able to perform this concert date, so the program has been altered to include pieces for the piano and 'cello. We wish Ms. Darling a speedy and complete recovery.

Sonata No. 4 in C for Violoncello & Piano, Op. 102, No. 1   (composed 1815, published 1817)

Ludwig van Beethoven
1. Andante — Allegro vivace
2. AdagioTempo d'andanteAllegro con brio
Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13 in the form of Variations   (composed1834-37; second version published 1852)
Robert Schumann
Theme (by Baron von Fricken) – Andante
Etude I (Variation 1) - Un poco pi¨ vivo
Etude II (Variation 2) – Andante
Etude III – Vivace
Etude IV (Variation 3) - Allegro marcato
Etude V (Variation 4) – Scherzando
Etude VI (Variation 5) – Agitato
Etude VII (Variation 6) - Allegro molto
Variation IV, Allegretto  {Opus Posthumous, publ. 1873}
Variation   V, Moderato  {Opus Posthumous, publ. 1873}
Etude VIII (Variation 7) - Sempre marcatissimo
Etude IX - Presto possible
Etude X (Variation 8) - Allegro con energia
Etude XI (Variation 9) - Andante espressivo
Etude XII (Finale) - Allegro brillante   (Theme by Marschner)


Sonata for 'Cello and Piano no. 2 in D, Op. 58   (1843)

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Allegro assai vivace
Allegretto scherzando
Molto Allegro e vivace

Piano by Tr÷ndlin, Leipzig, c.1830

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .