Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Misuzu Tanaka

Misuzu Tanaka, piano

Hailed in the international press as a pianist "who dispatched everything with both dizzying speed and sensitivity" (Today’s Zaman, Turkey) and for her “exceptionally high technical level” (the General-Anzeiger,  Bonn, Germany), Misuzu Tanaka has established herself as an artist of remarkable individuality with a rare combination of poetic sensitivity and breathtaking virtuosity.

She has performed in prestigious concert venues throughout the world, from the Gewandhaus in Leipzig and Mozart’s Museum at Villa Bertramka in Prague to Alice Tully Hall in New York. Misuzu Tanaka is a respected regular performer for Music from the Frederick Collection, a leading North-American venue for performance on historical instruments. Enjoying an active solo career in the U.S., she is among the country’s brightest emerging stars.

She opens her 2016-2017 season with a performance of Mozart’s Concerto No.9 with the Amadeus Festival Orchestra under the direction of maestro John Zoltek. Her recital highlights of the season include performances on the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts in Chicago (IL), Pro Musica in San Miguel de Allende (Mexico), Chamber Music Society of Maryland, Ridgecrest Chamber Music Society and a tour of South Africa, among others.

An avid small-ensemble collaborator, Misuzu Tanaka has also collaborated with prominent artists including James Dunham (Cleveland Quartet) and members of the National Symphony Orchestra. In 2012, together with her artistic partner and critically acclaimed clarinetist, Maksim Shtrykov, she began touring throughout the United States as the Shtrykov-Tanaka Duo.

Born in London, United Kingdom where she began her piano lessons at age 5, she then continued her studies in Japan and in the United States with Martin Canin at The Juilliard School. Her Master’s and Doctoral degrees are from University of Michigan where she was a full scholarship recipient studying with Dr. Logan Skelton, during which she devoted much time to the study and performance of the works of Leoš Janáček. Other notable teachers include Miroslav Brejcha and 
the late Ivan Moravec, both in the Czech Republic.

We are pleased to welcome back Misuzu Tanaka to the Historical Piano Concert Series and are happy to suggest you visit her web site, where, among much else, you can watch and listen to her perform.