Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, June 19, 2005 at 4: 00 p.m.

Dmitri Shteinberg, piano
(Click on name for Bio)


The End of Romanticism: France and Russia in the late 1800s

Nocturne Op. 74 in C# Minor (1898)
Nocturne Op. 63 in Db Major (1894)
Gabriel Fauré 
Four Preludes Op. 37 (1903) Alexander Scriabin 
I. Mesto
II. Maestoso, fiero
III. Andante
IV. Irato impetuoso
Masques (1904)
Feux d’artifice, (1913) from "Preludes," Book II
Claude Debussy 


Pictures From an Exhibition (1874) Modest Moussorgsky (1839-1881)
I.  Promenade
II.  Gnomus
III.  Promenade
IV.  The Old Castle
V.  Promenade
VI.  Tuileries (Children’s Dispute After a Play)
VII.  Bydlo
VIII.  Promenade
IX.  Dance of the Unhatched Chicks
X.  Samuel Goldenberg & Schmuyle
XI.  Limoges ("The Limoges Market")
XII.  Catacombae (Sepulcrum Romanum)
XIII.  Con mortuis in lingua mortua ("The Talk of the Dead")
XIV.  The Hut on Hen's Legs ("The Witch’s Hut")
XV.  The Great Gate at Kiev

The piano to be played at this concert will be the Erard "Extra-grand modèle de concert" piano, made in  Paris, 1877-’78.

We are fortunate that Mr. Shteinberg was able to fill in, on very short notice, this date originally scheduled for a concert with pianist Elaine Greenfield, who is temporarily disabled with a broken shoulder, and flutist, Karen Kevra. We look forward to being able to include that program as part of our Fall 2005 series.


All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $7.50 /adult, children and students, free

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .