Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Saturday and Sunday, June 17 and 18, 2006

"A Lively Talk on Schubert's Music"

Our Schubert Weekend begins with the Amelia Bowers Pearson Memorial Lecture, this one titled "A Lively Talk on Schubert's Music" by Henrica Bordwin, the president of the American Schubert Society. This will be held at the Piano Study Center in the former Stevens Memorial Library Building on Main Street, Ashburnham, at 4:00 pm on Saturday. The lecture is free and open to the public.

At 5:30 pm, following Ms. Bordwin's talk, a light pre-concert supper will be presented at the present Stevens Memorial Library, just a short walk across the village green from the former library which houses the Piano Study Center. The supper is free to concert-goers, but reservations are required. Please phone the Fredericks at 978-827-6232 or  them if you would like to join us for the supper. Donations, of course, will be gratefully accepted.

Following the supper, the first of the two Schubert Cycle recitals by Dmitry Rachmanov will be presented at our regular venue, the Ashburnham Community Church, at 7:00 pm. The programs appear below.

Dmitry Rachmanov
(Click on name for Bio)

Schubert Cycle, part I
Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 7:00 PM

Six Moments Musicaux, D 780 (1823-27) Franz Peter Schubert
No. 1 in C Major, Moderato
No. 2 in A-Flat Major, Andantino
No. 3 in F Minor, Allegro Moderato
No. 4 in C-Sharp Minor, Moderato
No. 5 in F Minor, Allegro vivace
No. 6 in A-Flat Major, Allegretto
Sonata in A Major, D 664 (1819 ?) Schubert
Allegro moderato


Sonata in E-Flat Major, D 568 (1817) Schubert
Allegro moderato
Andante molto
Menuetto: Allegretto
Allegro moderato

Schubert Cycle, part II
Sunday, June 18th, 2006 at 4:00 PM

Four Impromptus, D 899 Franz Peter Schubert
No. 1 in C Minor, Allegro molto moderato
No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Allegro
No. 3 in G-Flat Major, Andante
No. 4 in A-Flat Major, Allegretto
Sonata in A Minor, D. 784 (1823) Schubert
Allegro giusto
Allegro vivace


Sonata in D Major, D 850 (1825) Schubert
Con moto
Scherzo: Allegro vivace
Rondo: Allegro moderato

Piano to be announced

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .