Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, October 12, 2008 at 4:00 p.m.

The Orfeo Duo
Vita Wallace, violin
Ishmael Wallace, piano
(Click on name for Bio)


Beethoven and Two Pupils

Variations in C (c.1810) on an original theme, for violin & piano *

* These Variations by Rudolf Johann Joseph Rainer, Archduke of Austria & Tuscany and Archbishop of Olmütz, were originally for piano, with the accompaniment of the czakan, an early 19th-century novelty instrument combining a recorder and a walking stick. Such an  instrumentation was unusual, but hardly unprecedented at the time. Beethoven, Mozart, Haydn, and Schubert published chamber and solo repertoire for exotic instruments: the glass armonica (tuned glass bowls rotating on an axle), arpeggione (a fretted collision of the Renaissance viol with the guitar), lira organizata (Orgel-Leier, or organ hurdygurdy), Flötenuhr (organ music box), and various non-standard instruments with piano.

Archduke Rudolf of Austria & Tuscany


Sonata in A for piano & violin Ferdinand Ries
Rondo: Allegro
11 Bagatelles, Op. 119  (1821-22) 
in g,  C,  D,  A,  c,  G,  C,  C,  a,  A,  Bb
Ludwig van Beethoven


Sonata No.10 in G for violin & piano, Op. 96  (1812) Beethoven
Allegro moderato
Adagio espressivo
Scherzo: Allegro
Poco allegretto

Violin by Matthias Albani (Bozen/Bolzano), 1706
Bow after Nicolas Léonard Tourte (Paris), ca.1790, by Trevor Ewert (Wellesley, Ontario), 2004

Piano by Caspar Katholnig (Vienna), c.1805-10

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .