Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church
Sunday, May 20, 2012 at 4: 00 p.m.

Shuann Chai, piano   Yuan Sheng, piano

Shuann Chai & Yuan Sheng,
solo & duo piano

(Click on name for Bio)

The Schumanns and Brahms

Bilder aus Osten, Op. 66 (Images from the Orient – 6 impromptus)     (1848)
performed by
Shuann Chai and Yuan Sheng
Robert Schumann
1. Lebhaft
2. Nicht schnell und sehr gesangvoll zu spielen
3. Im Volkston
4. Nicht schnell
5. Lebhaft
6. Reuig, andächtig
16 Variations on a theme of R. Schumann, Op. 54, in f#     (1861)
performed by Yuan Sheng  
Johannes Brahms


Variations [in f#] on a theme of R. Schumann, Op. 20     (8 June 1853)      
performed by Shuann Chai

Clara Schumann
Drei Fantasiestücke, Op. 111     (1851)
performed by Shuann Chai

R. Schumann
1. Sehr rasch, mit leidenschatflichem Vortrag, in c
2. Ziemlich langsam, in Ab
3. Kräftig und sehr markiert, in c
from 21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 1     (1858-69)      
performed by Shuann Chai and Yuan Sheng
No. 1 in g  Allegro molto
No. 2 in d  Allegro non assai
No. 3 in F  Allegretto
No. 4 in f  Poco sostenuto
No. 5 in f#  Allegro

Piano by J.B. Streicher & Sohn, Vienna, 1868

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .