Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 16, 2012 at 4: 00 p.m.

Joseph Smith, piano  Joseph Smith, piano
(Click on name for Bio)


A Lecture-Recital:

The Dawn of Romanticism

Rhapsody in f, Op. 41, No. 1 (1810)    

Václav Jan Tomášek
Impromptu in A, Op. 7, No. 4 (1822)    

Jan Václav Hugo Voříšek
from 24 Etudes de perfectionnement, Op. 70   (1825-26)

Ignaz Moscheles
No. 12 in b-flat
No. 9 in Ab
No. 5 in a
No. 2 in e


A selection of Nocturnes

John Field
Nocturne No. 2 in c, H.25   (1812)

Nocturne No. 18 in E, H.13K   (1832)
    “Twelve O’Clock, the Celebrated Rondo”

Nocturne No. 4 in A, H.36   (1817)
Invitation to the Dance in Db, Op. 65   (1819)

Carl Maria von Weber

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1840

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .