Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, August 4, 2013 at 4: 00 p.m.

Yuan Sheng, piano, Historical Piano Concerts from The Frederick Piano Collection, Ashburnham, MA, Sunday, August 4, 2013
Yuan Sheng, piano
(Click on name for Bio)


Four Piano Sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 8 in c, Op. 13 (1798-99) “Pathétique

Ludwig van Beethoven

1. Grave – Allegro di molto e con brio
2. Adagio cantabile
3. Rondo: Allegro
Piano Sonata No. 21 in C, Op. 53 (1803-04) “Waldstein”

1. Allegro con brio
2. Introduzione – Allegro molto
3. Rondo: Allegretto moderato – Prestissimo


Piano Sonata No. 14 quasi una fantasia in c, Op. 27, No. 2 (1801) “Moonlight”

1. Adagio sostenuto
2. Allegretto – Trio
3. Presto agitato
Piano Sonata No. 23 in f, Op. 57 (1804-05) “Appassionata

1. Allegro assai – Più allegro
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro, ma non troppo – Presto

Piano by Caspar Katholnig, Vienna, ca. 1805-10

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $25.00 /adult,  $10.00 /child or student   No advance reservations are necessary for this special concert, which will be followed by an open reception with the artist.

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .