Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, June 2, 2013 at 4: 00 p.m.

Rebecca Hartka, cello  Gregory Hayes, piano

Rebecca Hartka, cello
Gregory Hayes, piano
(Click on name for Bio)


Across the Channel ~ Exploring Early 20th Century French and English Music

Trois pièces pour violoncelle & piano   (1915)

Nadia Boulanger
1. Modéré 
2. Sans vitesse et à l'aise
3. Vite et nerveusement rythmé
Cello Sonata No. 1 in d, Op.109   (1917)

Gabriel Fauré
1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Finale: Allegro commodo
Six Studies in English Folksong   (1926)

Ralph Vaughan Williams
1. Adagio in e modal minor  (Lovely on the Water)
2. Andante sostenuto in Eb  (Spurn Point)
3. Larghetto in d modal minor  (Van Dieman's Land)
4. Lento  (She Borrowed Some of her Mother's Gold)
5. Andante tranquillo in C  (The Lady and the Dragon)
6. Allegro vivace  (As I walked over London Bridge)
Cello Sonata in d   (1915)

Claude Debussy
1. Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
2. Sérénade: Modérément animé
3. Final: Animé, léger et nerveux


L'isle joyeuse   (1904) Debussy
Cello Sonata in d, Op. 125   (1913-17)    
Frank Bridge
1. Allegro ben moderato 
2. Adagio, ma non troppo– Molto allegro ed agitato

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1893

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .