Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, August 31, 2014 at 4: 00 p.m.

Junghwa Lee, piano Junghwa Lee, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Music of Clara and Robert Schumann

Scherzo in d, Op. 10 (1838)

Clara Schumann
Davidsbündlertänze, Op. 6     (1837)
Robert Schumann
1.    Lebhaft (Vivace), in G major, Florestan and Eusebius
2.    Innig (Con intimo sentimento), in B minor, Eusebius
3.    Etwas hahnbüchen (Un poco impetuoso) in G major,  Florestan
4.    Ungeduldig (Con impazienza), in B minor, Florestan
5.    Einfach (Semplice), in D major, Eusebius
6.    Sehr rasch und in sich hinein (Molto vivo, con intimo fervore) in D minor, Florestan
7.    Nicht schnell, mit äußerst starker Empfindung (Non presto profondamente espressivo) in G minor,  Eusebius
8.    Frisch (Con freschezza), in C minor, Florestan
9.    Lebhaft (Vivace), in C major, Florestan
10.  Balladenmäßig, sehr rasch (Alla ballata molto vivo), in D minor (ends in major), Florestan
11.  Einfach (Semplice), in B minor-D major, Eusebius
12.  Mit Humor (Con umore), in B minor-E minor and major, Florestan
13.  Wild und lustig (Selvaggio e gaio), in B minor and major, Florestan and Eusebius
14.  Zart und singend (Dolce e cantando), in E♭ major, Eusebius
15.  Frisch (Con freschezza), in B♭ major - Etwas bewegter (poco piu mosso), in E♭ major
Florestan und Eusebius
16.  Etwas langsamer (Con umore), in G major - Etwas langsamer (Un poco più lento), in B
minor  (leading without a break into No. 17)
17.  Wie aus der Ferne (Come da lontano), in B major and minor (including a full reprise of
No. 2),  Florestan and Eusebius
18.  Nicht schnell (Non presto), in C major, Eusebius
Valses romantiques in C, Op. 4 (1833?-1835)
Clara Schumann


Quatre pièces fugitives, Op. 15 (1840-44)
Clara Schumann
1.    Larghetto
Kreisleriana, Op. 16 (1838)
Robert Schumann
1. Äußerst bewegt
2. Sehr innig und nicht zu rasch-Intermezzo
      I- Erstes Tempo- Intermezzo
      II-Langsamer-Erstes Tempo    
3. Sehr aufgeregt-Etwas langsamer-Erstes Tempo-Noch schneller
4. Sehr langsam-Bewegter-Erstes Tempo
5. Sehr lebhaft
6. Sehr langsam-Etwas bewegter-Erstes Tempo
7. Sehr rasch-Noch schneller-Etwas langsamer
8. Schnell und spielend

Piano by Joh. Nepomuk Tröndlin, Leipzig, ca. 1830.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .