Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 4: 00 p.m.

Geoffrey Burleson, piano Geoffrey Burleson, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

A French Recital from before the Great War

Gavotte avec 6 doubles, in G, from Nouvelles suites de clavecin (ca. 1728)

Jean-Philippe Rameau
Mazurka No. 3 in b, Op. 66 (1882)
Camille Saint-Saëns
Valse nonchalante in Db, Op. 110 (1898)
Valse canariote in a, Op. 88 (1890)
Deuxième année de pèlerinage: Italie, S.164 (1837-49)
Franz Liszt
5. Sonetto 104 del Petrarca (Agitato assai – Adagio) 
Etudes d’exécution transcendentale, S.139 (1826-52) Liszt
11. Harmonies du soir (Db)


Miroirs (1904-05)

Maurice Ravel
1. Noctuelle
2. Oiseaux tristes
3. Une barque sur l'océan
4. Alborada del gracioso
5. La vallée des cloches
Les Pêcheurs de Perles (1863)    
Georges Bizet
Scherzo     (transcribed by St.-Saëns, 1886)

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1877  “extra-grand modèle de concert”

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .