Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 7, 2014 at 4: 00 p.m.

Misuzu Tanaka, piano, Maksim Shtrykov, clarinet Misuzu Tanaka, piano
Maksim Shtrykov, clarinet

(Click on name for Bio)

Fantasiestücke for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 73 (1849)

Robert Schumann
I. Zart und mit Ausdruck
II. Lebhaft, leicht
III. Rasch und mit Feuer
Sonata in F minor for Clarinet and Piano, Op.120 No.1 (1894)

Johannes Brahms
I. Allegro appassionato
II. Andante un poco adagio
III. Allegretto grazioso
IV. Vivace


Sonata in E-flat major for Clarinet and Piano, Op.120 No.2 (1894)
I. Allegro amabile
II. Allegro appassionato
III. Andante con moto. Allegro
Grand Duo Concertant for Clarinet and Piano, Op.48, in E♭ major (1815-16)

Carl Maria Von Weber
I. Allegro con fuoco
II. Andante con moto
III. Rondo: Allegro

Piano by Streicher, Vienna, 1871

Maksim plays "RC-Prestige" clarinets made in France by Buffet Crampon.

"RC" are the initials of Robert Carrée, an extremely talented acoustic technician at Buffet Crampon, who developed the RC clarinet in 1975. This basic model was then evolved into the Prestige professional line.

The Brahms Sonatas and Weber Grand Duo were written for a B-flat clarinet; Schumann’s Fantasiestücke was written for an A clarinet. Both of Maksim's instruments are modern: a B-flat clarinet made in 1998, and an A clarinet made in 2002.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .