Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 4: 00 p.m.

Gwendolyn Mok, piano Gwendolyn Mok, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Sonata No. 2 in A, Op. 2, No. 2 (1794–95)

Ludwig van Beethoven
1. Allegro vivace
2. Largo appassionato
3. Scherzo: Allegretto – Trio
4. Rondo: Grazioso
Nocturne in Eb, Op. 647 (1841)
Carl Czerny
Andante con sentimento
An die ferne Geliebte, Op. 98 (1816)    
    poems by Alois Jeitteles (1794-1858); S.469 (1849)

1. Auf dem Hügel sitz’ ich spähend
2. Wo die Berge so blau
3. Leichte Segler in den Höhen
4. Diese Wolken in den Höhen
5. Es kehret der Maien, es blühet die Au’
6. Nimm sie hin denn, diese Lieder


Variations sérieuses in d, Op. 54 (1841)

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Theme, Andante sostenuto
2. Un poco più animato
3. Più animato
5. Agitato
6. A tempo
7. Con fuoco
8. Allegro vivace
10. Moderato
11. Cantabile
12. Tempo di tema
13. Sempre assai leggiero
14. Adagio
15. Poco a poco più agitato
16. Allegro vivace
Conclusion, Presto

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1840

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .