Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4: 00 p.m.

(March 26, 2015)  Along with the rest of the classical music world, we are distressed to have learned this morning of the death, in his sleep, of the well-liked, modest, and warmly adventurous New York pianist, Joseph Smith. He was 66 and had not been previously unwell.                                                                   

Joseph Smith, piano Joseph Smith, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Edvard Grieg and his World
A Lecture-Recital

Grieg is a justifiably beloved composer, but his most popular works do not represent the full range of his style. This program includes not only well-known pieces, but also examples of his pre-impressionist style and his tougher, more astringent late folkloric pieces, as well as pieces by his early colleague, Rikard Nordraak, and his protégé, Percy Grainger.

Be forewarned that all the pieces may not be played in the order given, and Mr. Smith will decide during the concert where to insert an intermission, when he thinks he and the audience need one.

Humoresque in g#, Op. 6, No. 2   (1865, dedicated to Rikard Nordraak)

Edvard Hagerup Grieg
          Tempo di menuetto ed energico
from Lyriske småstykker  (Little Lyric Pieces), Vol. I, Op. 12   (1867, dedicated to Betty Egeberg) Grieg
No. 4. Alfedans  (Elfin Dance)
         Molto allegro e sempre staccato
Lyriske stykker  (Lyric Pieces), Vol. III, Op. 43   (1886, dedicated to Isidor Seiss) Grieg
1. Sommerfugl  (Butterfly)
          Allegro grazioso  
2. Ensom vandrer  (SolitaryTraveler)
          Allegretto semplice
3. I hjemlandet  (In My Home Landscape)
          Poco andante
4. Liten fugl  (Little Bird)
          Allegro leggiero
5. Erotik  (Love Poem)
          Lento molto
6. Til foråret  (To Spring)
          Allegro appassionato
from Fra Holbergs tid  (From Holberg's Time), Op. 40   (1884, dedicated to Erika Lie-Nissen)
No. 5. Rigaudon
          Allegro con brio
from Lyriske stykker  (Lyric Pieces), Vol. V, Op. 54   (1891, dedicated to Julius Röntgen) Grieg
No. 6. Klokkeklang  (The Knelling of Bells)
from Norske folkeviser  (Norwegian Folksongs), Op. 66   (1896)
14. I Ola-dalom, i Ola-sjönn  (In Ola Valley, in Ola Lake)
11. Der stander to piger  (There Stood Two Girls)
1.   Kulok  (Cow Call)
15. Bådnlåt  (Lullaby)
 from Norske slåtter  (Norwegian Peasant Dances), Op. 72   (1902-03, dedicated to Hermann Kretschmar)
(Traditional Hardanger fiddle tunes gathered and notated by Johan Halvorsen, arranged by Grieg)
No. 15. Skuldalsbrura – Gangar  (Gangar, The Bride from Skuldal)
          Allegro mæstoso e marcato
No. 8. Bruremarsj, etter Myllarguten  (Myllarguten's Wedding March)
          Allegretto grazioso
from Lyriske stykker  (Lyric Pieces), Vol. VII,   Op. 65   (1892) Grieg
No. 6. Bryllupsdag på Troldhaugen  Wedding day at Troldhaugen
Valse Caprice   (1864)
Rikard Nordraak
Irish Tune from County Derry (publ. 1911)

Percy Grainger
          Slowish, but not dragged, and wayward in time – the tune always well to the fore

Piano by Blüthner, Leipzig, 1877

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .