Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 6, 2015 at 4: 00 p.m.

This concert is sponsored in part by a grant from the Ashburnham Cultural Council under the auspices of the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Charles Neidich, clarinet Ayako Oshima Neidich, clarinet Yi-heng Yang, piano
Charles Neidich & Ayako Oshimavarious historical clarinets
Yi-heng Yangpiano
(Click on name for Bio)

Rare & Beautiful Music for the Historical Clarinet

Clarinet Duo in Eb, Op. 69, No. 3 (1790s?)

François Devienne
1. Allegro vivace
2. Presto
Sonata concertante in Bb for clarinet & piano

Franz Danzi
1. Allegro
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Allegretto
Sonata in G for clarinet & piano, Op. 5 (1900)
Gustav Jenner
1. Allegro moderato e grazioso
2. Adagio espressivo
3. Allegretto grazioso – Vivace
4. Allegro energico


Three pieces for clarinet & piano (1901-02)

Max Reger
1. Romanze in G, WoO II/10 
            Andante con moto
2. Albumblatt in Eb, WoO II/13 
            Andante con moto
3. Tarantella in g, WoO II/12 
            Äußerst lebhaft
 Sonata in e for clarinet & piano, Op. 105a (1877; arranged 1893 by the composer)
Joseph Rheinberger
1. Allegro non troppo
2. Andante molto
3. Finale: Allegro non troppo – Poco più mosso

Pianos by Tröndlin, Leipzig, c. 1830, and by Blüthner, Leipzig, 1877

Clarinets by Rudolf Tutz, Innsbruck (1991), after August Grenser (ca. 1800) [duo];
and after instruments by Georg Ottensteiner, Munich (1870) [solo]

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .