Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 4: 00 p.m.

Vitlaus von Horn. piano Vitlaus von Horn, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

An all-Schubert program
(preferably by candlelight)
Please CLICK HERE to read Vitlaus von Horn's program notes, In the Shadow of a Giant:
Notes on Schubert's Piano Sonatas in A minor and B-flat major,
D. 845 and D. 960

Sonata 16 in a, Op. 42, D. 845 (1825)

1. Moderato
2. Andante poco moto
3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace with trio
4. Rondo: Allegro vivace


Sonata 21 in Bb, Op. posth. D.960 (1828)
1. Molto moderato
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace con delicatezza
4. Allegro ma non troppo

Piano by Bösendorfer, Vienna, c.1830

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send e-mail to  .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the  .