Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, May 14, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

James Dargan, baritone  Mark Whitlock, piano James Darganbaritone
(Click on name for Bio)

Mark Whitlock, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Die Winterreise

Die Winterreise, D.911 (1827)
poems by Wilhelm Müller

Franz Schubert
1. Gute Nacht     Good Night
2. Die Wetterfahne     The weathervane
3. Gefrorne Tränen     Frozen tears
4. Erstarrung     Numbness
5. Der Lindenbaum     The linden tree
6. Wasserflut     Flood
7. Auf dem Fluss     On the stream
8. Rückblick     Backward glance
9. Irrlicht     Will-o’-the-wisp
10. Rast     Rest
11. Frühlingstraum     Dreams of spring
12. Einsamkeit     Loneliness


13. Die Post     The post
14. Der greise Kopf     The gray head
15. Die Krähe     The crow
16. Letzte Hoffnung     Last hope
17. Im Dorfe     In the village
18. Der stürmische Morgen     The stormy morning
19. Täuschung     Deceit
20. Der Wegweiser     The signpost
21. Das Wirtshaus     The inn
22. Mut!     Take courage!
23. Die Nebensonnen    The mock suns (parhelia)
24. Der Leiermann     The hurdy-gurdy man

Piano by Bösendorfer, Vienna, c.1828-1832.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .