Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 17, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

Artist Name, instrument
Gail Olszewski, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Northern Light
Piano music from Finland & Norway

Trois Morceaux, Op. 21 (ca. 1920)

Heino Kaski
1. Prelude in f#  Allegro
Lyric Pieces, Book 5, Op. 54 (1889-91)    

Edvard Hagerup Grieg
1. Gjætergut  (Shepherd Lad)  Andante espressivo
2. Gangar  (Norwegian Peasant March)  Allegro marcato
3. Trolltog  (March of the Dwarves)  Allegro moderato
4. Notturno  (Night)  Andante
5. Scherzo  (Jest)  Prestissimo leggiero
6. Klokkeklang  (Bells Resounding)  Andante
Lastuja II, Op. 9 (published 1906)  (Shavings, or Splinters)

Erkki Melartin
1. Iltalaulu  (Evening Song)  Andante – Lento   
2. Kehtolaulu  (Lullaby)  Moderato grazioso e semplice
3. Melodia  (Melody)  Andante
4. L'heure bleue  (The Blue Hour, or At Nightfall)  Allegretto – Andantino
5. Kevätlaulu  (Spring Song)  Cantando, legato e semplice
6. Hautauslaulu  (Funeral Song)  Andante
Menuetto in Bb, Op. 4 (Berlin, 1890)
Oskar Merikanto


Valses Mignonnes, Op. 17 (1915)  (Cute Waltzes)    
Ilmari Hannikainen
 2. Valssi in F  Allegretto grazioso
Five Pieces, Op. 20 (1921)
1. Syysaatteita  (Autumn Rain)  Andante con moto e doloroso
Lyric Pieces, Book 9, Op. 68 (1898-99)
1. Matrosernes opsang  (A Sailor's Scolding Song)  Allegro vivace e marcato
2. Bestemors menuett  (Grandmother’s Minuet)  Allegretto grazioso e leggierissimo
3. For dine føtter  (At Your Feet)  Poco andante e molto espressivo
4. Aften på højfjeldet  (Evening in the High Mountains)  Allegretto – Andante espressivo
5. Bådnlåt  (Lullaby)  Allegretto tranquilamente
6. Valse mélancolique (Melancholy Waltz) Tempo di valse tranquillo
Valse triste (1903-04)  (Sad Waltz)  Poco risoluto
   The composer's own transcription of his orchestral incidental music for Arvid Järnefelt's play, Kuolema (Death).
Jean Sibelius
Finska Rytmer, Op. 31 (published 1911) (Finnish Rhythms)    

Selim Palmgren
1. Karelsk dans  (Karelian Dance)  Allegro con spirito
2. Menuett-Vals  (Minuet Waltz)  Tempo di minuetto, non troppo presto
3. Det onda samvetet  (A Guilty Conscience)  Vivace assai
5. Västfinsk dans  (West Finnish Dance)  Allegretto con grazia
Salome – Three tone paintings, Op. 41 (1905)    
   A piano reduction of an excerpt from Melartin's choral-orchestral incidental music to the Finnish version of Oscar Wilde's 1891 play.

3. Salomen tanssi  (Salome's Dance)

Piano by Blüthner, Leipzig, 1877.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .