Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, May 12, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Chester Breznizk, clarinet   Malcolm Halliday, piano Chester Brezniak, clarinet
Malcolm Halliday, piano

Fantaisie in d/Bb for clarinet & piano    (1911)
     Lent – Animé – Tempo primo – Allčgrement – Un peu moins vite – Lent – Vivace

Philippe Gaubert
Las Presencias No. 7,  “Rosita Iglesias” (1965)
Originally for violin & piano, transcribed for clarinet by Javier Vinasco, Medellín, Colombia. Many thanks to Prof. Phil Paglialonga, University of North Texas, Denton, TX, for providing a copy of this lovely transcription.
Carlos Guastavino
Fantasy-Sonata for clarinet & piano    IJI 15    (1943)
     Andante moderato – Piů lento – Poco piů moto – Commodo – Giusto, con resoluzione
John Ireland
Balada Mexicana for solo piano    (1918?)
     Andantino placido – Meno mosso – Andante – Tempo primo

Manuel Ponce


Stücke für Klarinette & Klavier,    WoO II    (1901-02)

Max Reger
13.  Albumblatt in Eb
14. Tarantella in g
Elegie in Eb for clarinet & piano    BV 286    (1920)
     Andante sostenuto, parlando
Ferrucio Busoni
Nocturno in f# for solo piano    (1920s?)

Ramón Serratos
Street Tango    (1988)    arranged for clarinet & piano
     Energico - Molto meno mossoPiů mosso – Lighter, almost like a waltz – Lightly – Piů mosso
Astor Piazzolla
Suite Scaramouche, Op. 165c    (1936-41)
Darius Milhaud
1. Vif et joyeux
2. Modéré
3. Brazileira  Tempo di Samba

Chester Brezniak's clarinet by Buffet Crampon & Cie, Paris, c. 2015.
Piano by Érard, Paris, 1928.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students are still welcome without charge).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .