Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, October 6, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Dmitri Shteinberg, piano    Dmitri Shteinberg, piano

Robert Schumann

Papillons  Op. 2   (1829-’31)    “12 Metamorphosen über die Noten A-S-C-H
Introduction   Moderato  (in D major)
1. Waltz  (in D major)
2. Waltz   Prestissimo  (in Eb major)
3. Waltz  (in F# minor)
4. Waltz  (in A major)
5. Polonaise  (in Bb major)
6. Waltz  in (D minor)
7. Waltz   Semplice  (in F minor)
8. Waltz  (in C minor)
9. Waltz   Prestissimo  (in Bb minor)
10. Waltz  Vivo  (in C major)
11. Polonaise  (D major)
12. Finale  (in D major)    Here Schumann quotes a 17th century German folk tune, Grossvater Tanz                                            (Grandfather Dance), regularly played and danced at the end of wedding                                                celebrations.
Symphonic Études  Op. 13   (1834 - published 1837)  (All but the last variation, Étude XII, were based on a theme by Baron von Fricken.
Theme   Andante
Étude I (Variation 1)   Un poco piů vivo
Étude II (Variation 2)   Andante
Étude III   Vivace
Étude IV (Variation 3)   Allegro marcato
Étude V (Variation 4)   Scherzando
Étude VI (Variation 5)   Agitato
Étude VII (Variation 6)   Allegro molto
Étude VIII (Variation 7)   Sempre marcatissimo
Étude IX   Presto possibile
Étude X (Variation 8)   Allegro con energia
Étude XI (Variation 9)   Andante espressivo
Étude XII (Finale)   Allegro brillante  (This variation is based on an entirely different theme by the composer of German opera, Heinrich Marschner.)


Fantasie in C  Op. 17   (1836)
1. Durchaus fantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen
2. Mäßig – Durchaus energisch
3. Langsam getragen – Durchweg leise zu halten

Piano by Streicher, Vienna, 1846.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students are still welcome without charge).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .