Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Yuan Sheng, piano    Yuan Sheng, piano

Second in a series of recitals of solo piano works of
Robert Schumann


Fantasiestücke, Op. 12  (1837)
1. Des Abends"In the evening"Sehr innig zu spielen
2. Aufschwung"Soaring"Sehr rasch
3. Warum?"Why?"Langsam und zart
4. Grillen"Whims"Mit Humor
5. In der Nacht "In the night"Mit Leidenschaft
6. Fabel "Fable"Langsam
7. Traumes Wirren"The confusion of dreams"Äußerst lebhaft
8. Ende vom Lied"End of the song"Mit gutem Humor
Drei Fantasiestücke,   Op. 111    (1851)

1.    in c   Sehr rasch, mit leidenschaftlichem Vortrag
2.    in Ab   Ziemlich langsam
3.    in c  Kräftig und sehr markiert


3. Einsame Blumen"Lonely flowers"Einfach
4. Verrufene Stelle"Haunted place"Ziemlich langsam
5. Freundliche Landschaft"Friendly landscape"Schnell
6. Herberge"Wayside inn"Mäßig
7. Vogel als Prophet"Bird as prophet"Langsam, sehr zart
8. Jagdlied"Hunting song"Rasch, kräftig
9. Abschied"Farewell"Nicht schnell
Phantasiebilder: Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26  (1839)
"Fantastic images, a carnival jest from Vienna", drawing on Schumann's beloved A-S-C-H & S-C-H-A motifs
1. Allegro Sehr lebhaft
2. Romanze Ziemlich langsam
3. Scherzino
4. Intermezzo Mit größter Energie
5. Finale                       Höchst lebhaft

Piano by Streicher, Vienna, 1846.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students are still welcome without charge).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .