Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, September 26 , 2021 at 4:00 p.m.

Rebecca Hartka, 'cello     Barbara Lysakowski   Rebecca Hartka, cello
Barbara Lysakowski, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Across the Channel
French and English Music of the Belle Epoque

Prelude for cello & piano (1943)
Ernest John Moeran
Adagio, ma non troppo
Nocturne (1911)
Lili Boulanger
Originally for violin & piano
Intermezzo, L.27 (1882)
Claude Debussy
Originally for cello & orchestra
Sonata for cello & piano, H.125 (1913-17)
Frank Bridge
1. Allegro ben moderato
2. Adagio, ma non troppo – Molto allegro agitato


Après un rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (1870-77) Gabriel Fauré
Originally for voice & piano
Six Studies in English Folksong (1926) Ralph Vaughan Williams
1. Adagio "Lovely on the Water"
2. Andante sostenuto "Spurn Point"
3. Larghetto "Van Diemen's Land"
4. Lento "She Borrowed Some of Her Mother’s Gold"
5. Andante tranquillo "The Lady and the Dragon"
6. Allegro vivace "As I walked over London Bridge"
Suite in d for cello & piano, Op. 16 (1866) Camille Saint-Saëns
1. Prélude: Moderato assai
2. Sérénade: Andantino
3. Scherzo: Allegro grazioso
4. Romance: Adagio
5. Finale: Allegro con brio

Piano by Blüthner, Leipzig (1907) ,
violoncello by Custode Marcucci, Ravenna, Italy (1921),
bow by Charles-Nicolas Bazin, Mirecourt, France (1890).

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission:  $15.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here .

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .